Motorhome Hire Scotland

campervan hire scotland

Motorhome Hire Scotland - Testimonials

Please find below recommendations of our service, and testimonials from our customers (the images included in the customer reviews were kindly supplied by our clients, along with their testimonial)

July 2017 - The Bonds, Southampton, England

Gordon and Corinne were amazing from the word go, we couldn't rate them high enough! The motorhome was brand new and had everything you could possibly need, literally turn up grab some food and your all set!

Eilean Donan &the Highlander

I would say that the particular model we had needed a bit more thought from the factory in terms of 'rattle-prevention' as it was very noisy driving along, even with our best efforts to pack around everything in the kitchen. But on a whole, easy to drive, comfortable, economical and clean! Thanks for helping us enjoy our first highlands tour.

July 2017 - Wendy & Graham, Northants, England

Thanks Scottish Tourer for a wonderful holiday. We used the wild camping suggestions for each night of our 7 day holiday and got to stay in some fantastic quiet and remote locations. It was this idea that first attracted us to use this company.

The Motorhome was first class, well equipped and maintained. The tips given by Corrinne and Gordon helped with the wild camping enabling us to use all the facilities the motorhome had to offer.

Image shows 2 motorhomes in the foreground with a lighthouse in the background

We saw some of the more remote areas of Scotland that we would not have visited, thanks to the wild camping sites.
We are already looking at dates to book again.

June 2017 - Carole & Catriona, Lancs, England

TOP NOTCH MOTORHOMES AND SERVICE - If you're looking for excellent quality in a Motorhome to tour Scotland and the Islands along with a top notch service, look no further than Scottish Tourer Motorhomes. We rented last year and enjoyed the experience so much that we booked immediately on our return home for this year. Not just for ourselves but my in-laws as well. We all wanted to do a 2 week tour of the northern part of Scotland, Outer Hebrides and the Kintyre Peninsula. The Kontiki and Skye models afforded all the comfort we needed and more. Gordon, Corinne and Dawn presented us with 2 exceptionally clean motorhomes for our trip that were well equipped and ready to go once we had undergone our thorough orientation.

Image shows 2 motorhomes in the foreground with a lighthouse in the background

Again the TomTom provided us with details of wild camp areas, water etc and was a great asset to have. We had one or two queries on things during our trip and both Corinne and Gordon were extremely helpful on the phone and didn't seem to mind us calling. Soooo helpful. In return, we let them know that one of the council run chemical disposal points at the Harris Port of Leverburgh had closed and been removed 3 days prior to us arriving, that way they could let other clients know and update their own information.

The beauty of Scotland, captured when motorhome touring

Scottish Tourer have thought of everything when it comes to providing a motorhome and service for a wonderful care free holiday in a very special part of the world. We HIGHLY RECOMMEND them and look forward to booking again in the future for another adventure.

June 2017 - Elaine & Fergie Nelson, Strathaven, Scotland

We have just returned from a weeks holiday touring the west coast of Scotland in a Skye model motorhome hired from Scottish Tourers of Perth.
As newbees to motorhome hire we were a bit apprehensive but we can honestly say that this was one of the most relaxing and enjoyable holidays we have had!
From our 1st enquiry email to Gordon until we handed the van back at the end of our holiday the service was exemplary. Gordon emailed us routes and information before hand which let us plan our trip.
When we arrived to pickup the motorhome Gordon, Corinne and Dawn were very welcoming and friendly. All necessary details were taken and information given out in an organised and professional manner.

Wild Camping on Skye and Firemore Beach

Helpful tips were given on driving, routes, campsites etc before we left. The information contained in the sat nav was invaluable and made things so much easier. It was so reassuring to know that if there were any problems then either Gordon or Corinne could be called for advice.
The motorhome was luxurious and immaculately clean and so well equipped that there was nothing I can say that we needed that wasn't included.
We hope to do this this type of holiday again next year but for longer - there is so much more to see &do. We will definitely use Scottish Tourers again and would recommend this company to anyone considering this type of holiday!

FANTASTIC MOTORHOME, FANTASTIC COMPANY, FANTASTIC HOLIDAY

June 2017 - Bill & Di - Scarborough, England

We would like to say a big thank you to both of you for setting us up so well for what turned out to be a memorable tour. We'd hoped for an old fashioned road trip .. starting each day and not being really sure where we would end it... and that’s exactly what we got. Your welcome, support and advice, and of course the vehicle itself (with it’s sat nav) all contributed hugely to that end.

Motorhome overlooking mountains and Lochs

Needless to say life hasn’t been the same since. I can’t find reverse, I keep looking for a non existent sixth gear and I’ve no idea where the handbrake is! Di decided on the way home that she couldn’t see anything out of the car window as its so low compared to the Motorhomes so buried her head in a paper for the next three hours. The worst part however was when we got to that time of the day when we would have been starting to think where we might spend the night…!

June 2017 - Sue & Jim - Chesterfield, England

Just arrived back from a wonderful 2 weeks in Scotland in a Scottishtourer Islay. It was well equipped and very comfortable, my husband loved the Captains chair that swivelled, he always sat there!
I'm sure you will find your own way of doing things, but a tip about travelling without the pots rattling... I put them all in a box wrapped in kitchen roll and just got out what we needed to eat, washed them and then put back in the box, left it at floor level when we travelled. It worked really well for us.
A couple of really good sites that we stayed on we're Blair Athol Castle site, Sands at Gairloch, almost like wild camping in the sand dunes, but with all the facilities and fabulous beach walks, then Silver Sands at Lossiemouth, it has a lot of facilities that we didn't use, but the main attraction is that it is right next to RAF Lossiemouth. We were entertained daily by Eurofighters  practising manoeuvres - heaven - no need to go to an airshow this year. Again lovely beach walks and seals and a whale did a somersault for us.
Loved waving to other Motorhome vehicles, it was part of the fun of driving about.
I chose Scottish Tourer because they have new vehicles every year, and because everything was included up front, we knew what we were paying for. I highly recommend them and hope you enjoy the experience as much as we did.

May 2017 - Rita & Graham, East Yorkshire, England

From our first enquiry with you, to saying cheerio at the end of the holiday, we have nothing but praise for the service you offer.
The Skye motor home was superb and was presented in excellent order throughout. The whys and wherefores were explained before setting off on our weeks holiday.
Our intention to travel the West Coast routes, which you supplied via the Tom Tom sat nav, led us to the Black Isle and Skye. The scenery was spectacular, and was matched by the weather, which we requested, and you supplied!!
We would say to anyone considering this type of holiday, do it, you will not be disappointed. Do it with Scottish Tourer (Gordon & Corinne) we cannot recommend them highly enough, after a holiday to remember...

May 2017 - Valerie & Dennis, Lancashire, England

We decided to do a trip we always considered doing but never have before we got to old to enjoy it.
We decided to hire a motor home for 10 days in Scotland, but had no idea who to hire from so after much research decided to take a chance with 'Scottish Tourer'.
We are very glad we did as the total service we received was FIRST CLASS & so was the Skye Motor Home.
On arrival at vendors premises in Perth we received a very warm welcome from Gordon, Corrine & Dawn.
They showed us everything relative about the Motor Home which took quite a while, but then we were on our way to the Outer Hebrides Via. Oban to Barra then across all the islands exploring the history and sights along the way & then returning to main land from Stornoway to Ullapool, then a good drive down to Perth to return the Motor Home for its final inspection in our care, the inspection was quick and easy then we were back into what felt like a small car to return home.
The routes supplied by Gordon are very detailed and informative also the sat nav is very well programmed with almost everything you need to know.
We really enjoyed the holiday and now have some nice memories to look back on.

May 2017 - Gordon & Rosalind, Derbyshire, England

Thank you for your kind attention and hard work in providing us with a superb Motorhome and all the extra information that made our three week adventure around the highlands of Scotland so enjoyable. We had long thought it would be a great idea, but your reassurance from our first contact last October, made us believe that it was actually possible for folk who are new to Motorhomes and apprehensive about driving one around the Scottish Highlands.

Motorhome Tour ready to board the ferry, and Sandwoodbay

Your first-hand experience and knowledge of the area helped us plan our trip even before we left home. The excellently equipped Swift Skye made wild camping very comfortable and we found some amazing places to stay. In three weeks we explored the Black Isle, headed up the East Coast and had a day trip as passengers over to Orkney. An easy drive along the single track roads along the north coast, then back, taking our time to enjoy the scenery, down the west coast with a detour to Skye. The landscape is simply stunning (we did have good weather) and a Motorhome a practical way to experience this wild and remote area. Your recommendations for campsites, when we used them, at Kinloch (on Skye) and Arisaig were excellent.

Image sunset from Shieldaig,Torridon, with another image from Gruinard Bay

We are left with a great sense of achievement, very happy memories of sights seen, amazing scenery and lots of unanticipated but joyful surprises along the way! We would recommend Scottish Tourers to anyone thinking of planning a similar trip because of the prompt, personal and professional attention that we received from Gordon and Corinne from our initial enquiry, until we returned the Motorhome.

May 2017 - Barry & Bradford, England:

We have just returned home following two weeks spent exploring the north of Scotland and the Western Highlands in one of Gordon and Corinne's luxury Skye Motor homes.
The word Luxury sums up everything about Scottish Tourers and Gordon and Corrine.

Their motor homes are specified and equipped to the highest level as well as being extremely comfortable. The level of service, from first enquiry to handing back the motor home at the end of your holiday, is top notch. Nothing is too much trouble.

Their 'pre-flight checks' with you before you get behind the wheel are comprehensive and stand you in good stead for when you hit the road. The Sat Nav, programmed with countless wild campsites, water stops, toilet stops and heaven knows what else, is indispensible They are always just a 'phone call away', but luckily we didn’t need to make use of this.

During our two weeks we saw stunning scenery, met a lot of very nice people and had a brilliant time.

Motorhome Tour in Scotland 2017

April 2017 - Davidson Family, Forfar, Scotland:

This was the second time we have hired from Scottish Tourer and the enjoyment we had first time round was easily replicated. This time we did the NC500, and once again we really loved life on the road in a fantastically kitted out and comfortable ‘home’ for the duration of our hire. As was the case last time, Gordon and Corinne were brilliant to deal with and extremely helpful and knowledgeable. After both our experiences with Scottish Tourer it is hard to even contemplate considering any other alternatives to their excellent service and motorhome fleet.

Motorhome Hire - Motorhome Hire Scotland 2017

April 2017 - Tim & Tracy, Rotherham, England:

There are quite a few things to say in regard to reviewing our holiday with Scottish Tourer. The first is about the quality of the motor home itself - it was brand new, just 20 miles on the clock. It was perfect for our 2 person needs, and made a rather wet week into a hugely enjoyable road trip.

The second is to note the very good quality pre-rental service. The information was timely, clear and detailed. Although we did struggle to find the house on arrival as we were expecting to enter a mobile home parking lot. But that's because we didn't read the information well enough.

The 'in holiday service' was not necessary as we were given an excellent explanation of how all the gadgets in the mobile home worked before we set off, but had we struggled as novice mobile homers, the availability of the staff 24/7 on the phone was reassuring.

On returning the vehicle we had a friendly and courteous experience despite the 'novice' errors we had made: not filling the LPG up enough, not filling up with water, not sufficiently emptying the loo. All of which were dealt with nicely and without drama.
Although we were a bit fortunate the van did not have to go out for another day or two.

The holiday itself was excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience. It was not a cheap holiday... but was absolutely the best way to see Scotland- even and perhaps especially, in bad weather. We had a truly great experience.

October 2016 - Mark & Lisa, Blairgowrie, Scotland:

We hired a motorhome for the first time this October, fantastic holiday. Motorhome was great, very well equipped, clean and with lots of extras. This was the last week the motorhome was being used as it was the end of the season and it was in fantastic condition just like brand new and had been well looked after. The sat nav was pre programmed with lots of incredibly useful information including toilet and water stops, camp sites and wild camp sites etc which made wild camping so easy. We wild camped most nights which was great, 2 nights at campsites Glencoe and Applecross; both campsites were well equipped and clean but we preferred the wild camping. The weather was very kind so we were able to use the outdoor chairs and bbq which were provided and the kids made occasional use of the TV &dvd player before bedtime. The living accommodation was very comfortable with plenty of room for our family of 4. Communication and service from Gordon and Corrine was second to none we will definitely be booking again. The most relaxing holiday we have had in years. Just fabulous!

Motorhome Hire - On Tour in Bonnie Scotland

October 2016 - Paul & Julie, Leicester, England:

After an amazing holiday last year we are back again to enjoy the open roads, in the slightly longer Bolero this year, the larger bathroom across the back of the unit made all the difference (had the luxury Bessacar last year). We managed to navigate several hairy roads including the Torridon Mountain Pass, the roads to Lochgoilhead and Helensborough, most memorable was the Pass of the Cattle coming up out out Applecross which was interesting at times but the scenery makes up for the switchback roads. The sun was pretty constant throughout our week after just one frosty start and the autumn colours amazing if a little later than last year. The sunrises and sunsets especially at Loch Morlich and Arisaig breathtaking. Taking the bikes is always an added bonus so we cycled the Old Logging Way from Morlich into Aviemore - easier going downhill for about 5 miles, a little more strenuous back to the motorhome. I could write a journal of all the places we visited and the places we plan to go next year but that's for another day. Gordon and Corinne were there for back up if needed but everything was spot on. The motorhome had everything we needed and more, perhaps an extra pillow wouldn't go a miss, but then we may stay in the comfy bed all day and not enjoy the beautiful highlands. We may have to go twice next year to try the far north! Thanks again for a wonderful experience.

October 2016 - Ian & Maureen, Dumfries, Scotland:

What a FANTASTIC holiday we just experienced having just visited the Scottish Highlands which without doubt has to be one of the most beautiful areas to be found anywhere in the world... my wife and I now believe that there is NO better way to enjoy the fabulous sights, scenery and attractions of Scotland than to travel by Motorhome and not just any motorhome but a current year luxury motorhome supplied by Scottish Tourer of Perth. As this was our first experience of motorhoming and wild camping (our choice to wild camp) we wanted to make sure that we did our research of available suppliers before committing to this type of holiday and it gives me great pleasure to say that we could not have chosen better... Gordon &Corrine could not have been more helpful or attentive from booking the motorhome to vehicle collection and return of what was a luxury hotel room on wheels. Our next adventure is already in the planning for 2017... and cannot wait to see you both then.

Motorhome Hire in Scotland - On Tour Scotland

September 2016 - Andrew &Melanie, Norfolk, England:

As we went for the top of the range Kontiki, we loved it and were probably spoilt... we couldn't have wished for a better motorhome to use for the areas of Scotland that we toured.
One oversight on our behalf was that due to the length of the Kontiki it pushed us into the 8m-10m ferry crossing category, which would work out at quite an extra cost if you were island hoping. It might be worth mentioning this on your site to advise people like us that have never hired a motorhome or used the Island ferry's before. Based on our experience and wanting to do this part of Scotland again, if we were to buy a Motorhome I would keep it under 8m for this very reason, so this has been a very useful experience.
The only issues we could think of that may improved the experience, as we were hiring for two weeks, we could have done with a spare set of bedding and towels... we mainly wild camped, so wash facilities were at a minimum... The other thing was when we came back into the motorhome with wet clothes, we had no where to hang them to dry, It could do with a foldable clothes rack that was maybe stored in the garage or a retractable clothes line that you could temporally pull across two points inside.
These are only minor points and overall we have an experience that will be a great memory for the rest of our lives and that has encouraged us to buy a motorhome in the not too distant future. We would like to rent another motorhome with you at some point, only this time try one a little smaller and a different layout, to help us decide what works for us.
Thank you for your collection service and allowing us to use one of your fantastic motorhomes...

Scottish Tourer Comment:

The Kontiki is right on the verge of 8 metres long... Normally the Calmac Ferries personnel will allow you the rate under 8 metres but will depend on the individual booking you on. When we are touring we just normally stop off at a laundrette at a campsite and do our laundry there. However we will offer two sets in future and thank you for pointing this out. Wet clothes we will hang in the shower room when travelling or under the awning to dry off when stationary.

September 2016 - Sarah & Joe, North Carolina, USA:

My husband and I rented a motorhome from Gordon and Corinne in September 2016. We had a wonderful experience! From my first inquiry email Gordon was very helpful and responsive. Every question I asked was usually replied to within 24 hours. He sent maps of potential routes, and photos, and made me even more excited for our trip! Once we arrived the pick up at the airport was easy, they were exactly where they said they would be at the exact time. The pick up of the motorhome went smoothly. Corinne explained everything we needed to know very thoroughly. And we were reassured quite a few times that if we had issues, or forgot anything, they were just a phone call away. I appreciated how calm and easygoing both Gordon and Corinne were. Driving away in someone's very expensive motorhome somehow made me a lot more nervous than picking up a rental car, but they made it easy. Gordon and Corinne had included not only a Tom Tom filled with marked spots (campsites, wild camping sites, water taps, as well as tourist points of interests) but also a full road atlas of Scotland and a laminated binder of the routes they had mailed us.

Motorhome Hire in Scotland - Stunning images taken on tour in Scotland

Our 12 days in the motorhome were amazing! We got the smallest of the offered sizes, which worked very well for us. We traveled down some very tiny roads on the west coast, parked in some very small and very full parking areas, and had to pull quite a few u-turns when I made my husband go back for a photo of an adorable hairy cow, and we never had a problem. The motorhome was surprisingly easy to handle. We had plenty enough room for the two of us inside. We ended up emptying the toilet and filling up on water every two or three days. It was easy to find a place to do both of those things thanks to the Tom Tom, we just followed along each day and inevitably there would be something along our route. We opted to wild camp every night except the last, and it was a great decision! The ability to pull over whenever you saw a beautiful vista you wanted to wake up to was awesome. The only thing we couldn't use without power hook up was the microwave, but we didn't need it.

The return of the motorhome was equally as easy. We drove to the yard (address was laminated in the motorhome so it was easy to find again) unloaded our luggage, Gordon did a quick walk around,a nd we were on our way! And the refundable deposit was wired back to us within 2 days.

Motorhome Hire in Scotland - Amazing shots of beautiful Scotland

This was our first experience ever with a motorhome, and we are hooked! My favorite part was the ease it gave the trip. We took several hikes, and upon returning it was so great to be able to just close the blinds and have plenty of room to change out of wet clothes and have a snack before continuing on our way. And in the evenings, once we were done driving/exploring for the day, we just found a spot to park, pulled over, and were drinking wine within 2 minutes. No checking in, unpacking, etc. necessary. I loved it!

So long story short, go to Scotland, rent a motorhome, and make sure you rent it from Gordon and Corinne. You will not be disappointed!!

September 2016 - Carole & Catriona, Lancs, England:

From our first contact with Scottish Tourer we were impressed with their professionalism and attention to detail. Both written and verbal communication was excellent and completion of the booking was very straight forward. Gordon and Corinne have considered everything when it comes to the comfort and practicality of the motorhomes they provide, particularly when it comes to wild camping. We rented the Bessacarr for a week and toured our way from their base up to the very north coast of the mainland, along part of the Moray Firth and through the Cairngorms National Park via Braemar. All the information of suggested routes and wild camping spots was fantastic and was sent via email after our booking was made, so we could plan our route. The availability of the Tom Tom GPS with wild camp details, water location etc was also a bonus and a lot of thought had clearly been given to make life as easy as possible for their clients. Our motorhome was very clean on collection and orientation of the vehicle both inside and out was thorough and well explained.

Motorhome Hire in Scotland - Split image showing a view of a castle ruin and anither of a beach cliff and sea view

Gordon and Corinne provide an excellent way to see the beautiful country of Scotland in comfort and we have already booked for 2 weeks next year and we can see many more years of bookings and exploring to come.

September 2016 - Michael Bassingthwaighte, NSW, Australia:

We have just finished a fantastic 2 week trip around Scotland courtesy of Gordon and Corinne in the Scottish Tourer Motorhome Having extensively researched hire companies and options for traveling around Scotland I was confident that we had made the right choice in selecting Scottish Tourers as each contact was very efficient and the provision of suggested itineraries and details of stops and points of interest only reinforced this further. From the pick up at Edinburgh Airport to the drop off at Edinburgh train station at the end of our trip nothing was too much trouble and the the whole experience (a first for us) was very smooth and most enjoyable.

Motorhome Hire in Scotland - Image of a train on the Glennfinnan Viaduct

Gordon and Corinne encouraged us to make contact at any time and to have this back up was very reassuring - indeed when we needed to clarify how to refill the gas this was dealt with immediately and very supportively. During our trip we travelled 1,300 miles over the 2 weeks from the East Coast through the middle of the highlands, across to Skye and south to the Mull of Kintyre and saw lots of Scotland and loved every minute.

Motorhome Hire in Scotland - merged image of a parked and moving motorhome

We mixed up the use of camping sites and wild camping (with excellent camping facilities at Loch Morlich, Arisaig, Inverary, Stirling and Blair Atholl). The motorhome (Bolero) was big in size but the inclusions were excellent and it was easy to drive.
We are very pleased that we chose Scottish Tourers and all the reviews that we had read were absolutely true.

This will not be the last time we do a motorhome holiday and we would be delighted to use the services of Scottish Tourers again.

September 2016 - Sharon & Charlie from Croydon, England:

Many thanks for a 2nd fabulous holiday with Scottish Tourers, again a friendly professional welcome and an immaculate Motorhome, as I said to Corrine on handover of the vehicle it felt like coming home and it truly did. Scotland has a way of getting into your soul and hiring the motorhome is the perfect way to see the true beauty it has to offer. We were amazingly fortunate with the weather and saw Scotland in all her glory, stunning beaches, mountains and lochs. We visited Stirling, the castle is amazing, Loch Lomond, the ferry over to Arran, ferry to the Kintyre Peninsula, ferry to Mull and then ferry to the Ardnamurchan Peninsular which is stunning in its remoteness, although we did find a pub in which to celebrate our wedding anniversary and I ate the freshest langoustines and experienced true darkness on the walk back to the Motorhome. We have already booked for 2017 and look forward to the new Motorhomes. I shall be counting the days, and thank you once again...

Motorhome Hire in Scotland - Double image of a cyclist looking over a bridge and another of a beach with cliffs

Scottish Tourer Comment:

It was very nice having you both back this year and we look forward to seeing you in 2017... Also a very big thank you for returning the motorhome in immaculate clean condition once again.

September 2016 - Sarah & Joe from Asheville, South Carolina, USA:

My husband and I rented a motorhome from Gordon and Corinne in September 2016. We had a wonderful experience! From my first inquiry email Gordon was very helpful and responsive. Every question I asked was usually replied to within 24 hours. He sent maps of potential routes, and photos, and made me even more excited for our trip!
Once we arrived the pick up at the airport was easy, they were exactly where they said they would be at the exact time. The pick up of the motorhome went smoothly. Corinne explained everything we needed to know very thoroughly. And we were reassured quite a few times that if we had issues, or forgot anything, they were just a phone call away. I appreciated how calm and easygoing both Gordon and Corinne were. Driving away in someone's very expensive motorhome somehow made me a lot more nervous than picking up a rental car, but they made it easy. Gordon and Corinne had included not only a Tom Tom filled with marked spots (campsites, wild camping sites, water taps, as well as tourist points of interests) but also a full road atlas of Scotland and a laminated binder of the routes they had mailed us.
Our 12 days in the motorhome were amazing! We got the smallest of the offered sizes, which worked very well for us. We traveled down some very tiny roads on the west coast, parked in some very small and very full parking areas, and had to pull quite a few u-turns when I made my husband go back for a photo of an adorable hairy cow, and we never had a problem. The motorhome was surprisingly easy to handle. We had plenty enough room for the two of us inside. We ended up emptying the toilet and filling up on water every two or three days. It was easy to find a place to do both of those things thanks to the Tom Tom, we just followed along each day and inevitably there would be something along our route. We opted to wild camp every night except the last, and it was a great decision! The ability to pull over whenever you saw a beautiful vista you wanted to wake up to was awesome. The only thing we couldn't use without power hook up was the microwave, but we didn't need it.
The return of the motorhome was equally as easy. We drove to the yard (address was laminated in the motorhome so it was easy to find again) unloaded our luggage, Gordon did a quick walk around,a nd we were on our way! And the refundable deposit was wired back to us within 2 days.
This was our first experience ever with a motorhome, and we are hooked! My favorite part was the ease it gave the trip. We took several hikes, and upon returning it was so great to be able to just close the blinds and have plenty of room to change out of wet clothes and have a snack before continuing on our way. And in the evenings, once we were done driving/exploring for the day, we just found a spot to park, pulled over, and were drinking wine within 2 minutes. No checking in, unpacking, etc. necessary. I loved it!
So long story short, go to Scotland, rent a motorhome, and make sure you rent it from Gordon and Corinne.
You will not be disappointed!!

August 2016 - Vacheret Family, Saint Nom La Bretetche, France:

Scotland is a wonderful wild country to visit with a camping car when you want to travel comfortably with a minimum of constraints.
All the previous contacts before renting were helpful and precise and no bad surprise up to the end of rental period.

Motorhome Hire in Scotland - Motorhoming on the beach

After visiting Edimburg, we have been picked up at our hotel (and return at Glasgow airport the last day)
The camping car was very well equipped up to a TomTom GPS with a complete map of wild spots for stopping for the night and re-filling water. We achieved 3 weeks with no need to stay in a camping site and without to be anxious not to find a suitable place.

Motorhome Hire in Scotland - Motorhome overlooking a stunning sea view

During 3 weeks and every day, a new spot along beaches and rivers, over cliffs,... and no more than one or two other neighbours each time when exceptionally we were not alone.
Gordon and Corinne, thanks you again for your kindness and professionalism. Hoping to rent again with Scottish Tourer during end of spring in 3 or 4 years.

August 2016 - William & Hazel from Hawick, Scotland:

We were 'newbies' to motor home travelling but could not have chosen a better company to hire from. The vehicles are new and very well kitted out.
Scotland is a beautiful country, so diverse in it's landscapes, and despite having travelled Scotland a lot in the past, to experience the luxury of driving to every nook and cranny, then just be able to stop, keys out of the ignition and enjoy the comfort of home in the most beautiful rural (sometimes in town), rugged locations is just wonderful. We did Skye,Harris, Lewis, very north west and north of Scotland, Orkney, back to Perth.
Gordon and Corrine's enthusiasm for motor homes is infectious and you freely benefit from their many years experience.

Motorhome Hire in Scotland - Lovely view of Castle

Wild camping sites marked on the sat. nav. are a help along the way. We had 6 wonderful wild camp stops, only using a camp site for the last night to get the van 'ship-shape' for return, wild camping definitely the best!
If you are considering a motor-home holiday, there can surely not be anywhere better to go than Scottish Tourer Motorhome Hire.

Motorhome Hire in Scotland - View of a motorhome on a beach and another image of ancient standing stones

August 2016 - Jane & Andrew from Ormskirk, Scotland:

We hired a Scottish Tourer from Gordon and Corinne for the last week in August 2016 and we loved every minute of it. We are a family of 4 travelling with our older children (19 & 14) and we had worked out our Hebrides route in advance alongside Gordon and Corinne's really useful information. The motor home was really well equipped and spacious and we had no problem living together on our Island adventure. We had a fantastic trip to Skye, Barra, North and South Uist, Harris and Lewis - wonderful sunsets, beautiful beaches and stunning scenery. We are sure this was the best way to see this outstanding area, offering us both flexibility to change our plans and a base to relax both mornings and evenings. As a non-camping family we found that the campsites we selected exceeded our expectations and it was easy to swap some of our ferries with just a phone call. This was the first time we had hired a motor home and we found that everything was as described and to a high standard and it was a pleasure to be in a vehicle that was almost brand new. Thanks again to Scottish Motorhomes for a delivering a quality product and service.

July 2016 - Dumont Family, Bessancourt, France:

My wife, our two kids and I hired a Lewis 6 berth for two weeks in July 2016. Our first time in Scotland, and our first time in a motorhome!
We found Scottish Tourer on blogs where people complained about issued with their renters. Someone had written a very positive testimonial on Gordon and Corinne services, so we chose them. We didn't regret our choice at all! They are very kind, very professional. The motorhomes are renewed every year.
The motorhome is fully equiped with all we could need, including a very useful base of wide camp and tap sites saved in the GPS, so you are never lost! Gordon and Corinne helped us choosing our route, giving us advices on the most interesting places to visit.
We loved our journey. Scotland is definetely a gorgeous country, as beautiful as in my dreams.
I hope you will enjoy it too with Scottish Tourer.
Next year we will travel to the States and the Route 66. If only we could find some Gordon and Corinne there! :)

Motorhome Hire in Scotland - View from inside of a motorhome looking out, and an image of an old red telephone box

July 2016 - Daniel & Son Lyon, France:

It was for my son and me, our first holiday in motorhomes. A little anxious at the start ( template and use of CC, LHD, etc ...) the warm welcome and explanation of Corinne and Gordon reassured us perfectly.
The CC of the equipment is very complete. Nothing is missing, from the air conditioning (not really useful !!!) to kitchenware via the BBQ, awning, chairs and a picnic table, a flashlight, beds and towels . Note that having need of 220v voltage for a medical device, Gordon kindly helped us to install our small UPS (12v => 220V) before departure.
Finally, the CC was in perfect condition ( almost new with qq thousand km only) and we only had to take (carefully... ) the road to discover the majestic landscapes of Scotland and its castles
C'était, pour mon fils et moi, nos premières vacances en Camping-Car.

Motorhome Hire in Scotland - Image showing Motorhome on an empty road leading to background hills

Un peu anxieux au départ (gabarit et utilisation du CC, conduite à gauche, etc...) l'accueil chaleureux et les explications de Corinne et Gordon nous ont parfaitement rassurés.
L'équipement du CC est particulièrement complet. Rien ne manque, de la clim (pas vraiment utile !!!) aux ustensiles de cuisine en passant par le BBQ, un auvent, des chaises et une table de camping, une lampe torche, les couchages et le linge de toilette. A noter qu'ayant besoin de tension 220v pour un appareil médical, Gordon nous à très aimablement aidés à installer notre petit onduleur (12v => 220V) avant le départ.
Enfin, le CC était en parfait état (quasiment neuf avec qq milliers de km seulement) et nous n'avions qu'à prendre (prudemment...) la route pour découvrir les paysages majestueux de l’Écosse et de ses châteaux...

Motorhome Hire in Scotland - Image showing Motorhome on a bridge and a motorhome on a ferry

July 2016 - Jackie & Stuart from Ayrshire, Scotland:

My husband and I had an absolute fantastic time when we hired a motorhome from you both we have not stopped ranting about it to everyone. The information given from you was brilliant before we left and the wild camping was right up our street this is our kind of holiday to see our wonderful country this way was second to none!! We will and have recommended you to everyone to give it a go as we will definitely be doing it again, great personnel service from you and the motorhome was first class luxury with everything you could possible want. Thanks again for a fantastic experience the grins are still on our faces when we talk about it all the best

Motorhome Hire in Scotland - Double image showing Motorhome parked up an a site &another with mountain view

July 2016 - Tim & Lynn, Warlingham, Surrey:

Our first experience of a Motorhome holiday. Gordon & Corinne make everything so simple from initial enquiry to hand over of the Motorhome. The whole process could not be easier. When we arrived we had a warm and friendly welcome, completed some paperwork and set off to collect our Motorhome. We were shown around and had demonstrated how everything worked. The Bolero Super Luxury really it what it says and lacked absolutely nothing, all immaculate and brand new. All the information about the Motorhome and appliances is in the manuals that come with the Motorhome. Gordon & Corinne are also available on their mobiles 24/7 should there be a problem. Am I really to be trusted with it?

Motorhome Hire in Scotland - Images showing lochs and mountains

Said our goodbyes and were wished well and we set off. Easy to drive and very comfortable, we soon found our first wild camping spot by a beautiful wooded loch with a backdrop of mountains. This was everything we had wished for and more. Prepared dinner had a glass or two enjoying the peace, tranquillity and stunning scenery. Really surprised by how late it stays light in June. Slept well, woke refreshed. I was surprised by how much room was in the shower, I'm 6' 3'' and it was fine for me, had breakfast and headed off. We were given all the information we could possibly need about where to wild camp or camp sites too, the Sat Nav and maps proved so useful in helping guide our holiday. It soon becomes apparent you do not have to make too many plans and are pretty much free to do and go where you wish because of the independence offered by the Motorhome... You soon find yourself waving to other Motorhomes too.

Motorhome Hire in Scotland - Images showing landscapes of scotland showing a daylight and a sunset shot

We spent ten days combining wild camping and using camp sites all of which were superb. We toured the West Coast and visited Skye. We saw some of the most stunning scenery, visited some of the most beautiful places and met lots of very nice people. Then time to hand back. It passed so quickly, the Motohome has everything you could possibly want is easy to drive and so comfortable.

Gordon & Corinne are a wealth of knowledge and experience also warm, inviting friendly people.
Thanks to them we had a truly memorable time and are looking forward to repeating it.
If you are considering a Motorhome holiday in Scotland then you need look no further than Scottish Tourer.

July 2016 - Nigel & Viv, Staffordshire, England:

We were a little apprehensive when picking up a nearly new 7m motorhome for our first motorhome experience, but we soon gained confidence, relaxed into it and the holiday was a great success. Gordon and Corinne were extremely helpful, from our initial enquiry, through to our return of the motorhome at the end of our two week holiday.

The motorhome was fabulous - we hired the Bessacar 454, which was very comfortable for the two of us.

Motorhome Hire in Scotland - Image showing a motorhome, other image shows 2 cycles beside a woodland fence

As first-timers, we decided that we would stay on caravan sites rather than wild camp, so we planned a route based on some very helpful Scottish Tourer recommendations and on some research of our own. We ended up staying at six different locations, each impressive in their own way - Blair Atholl, Grantown-on-Spey, Dunvegan (Isle of Skye), Arisaig, Glencoe and Stirling. The satnav provided by Scottish Tourer was easy to use and was a great help. The scenery on our travels around the highlands and the western isles was stunning and we also enjoyed some great views from some of our caravan site pitches.

Motorhome Hire in Scotland - Image showing a long horned cow, other image shows beautiful garden

The two weeks went very quickly - we did lots of walking, cycling (we hired bikes from Scottish Tourer), visited three castles (Blair, Dunvegan and Stirling), the Wallace Monument at Stirling, the museum at Glencoe, visited Portree (Isle of Skye), sampled the local ales and food... and generally had a wonderful relaxing time.

We would not hesitate to recommend Scottish Tourer, especially to first-timers like ourselves.

July 2016 - Lisa & Craig, Motherwell, Scotland:

We hired a motor home from scottishtourer.co.uk for a week at the end of June 2016 as a family of four. We were all excited beyond words and were not disappointed, the motor home was amazing, fully equipped and spacious enough for the four of us to enjoy a week of touring Scotland. Corrine was there to show us around and was excellent and gave us the confidence we needed to commence with our trip. We left and headed for Aviemore. We followed a route that was already set in the easy to use sat nav system and there was also a folder full of interesting places to visit, we were spoiled for choice. We done a few nights of wild camping, which was amazing, and a must do as this is exactly what these motor homes are made for. We stayed by the river in Grantown-on-Spey and it was a beautiful spot to wake up in the morning!! The Kids had a great time and are desperate to go again. We also visited Lossiemouth, Applecross (mountain pass is a must as is seafood at Kishorn), Skye, Arisaig, Mallaig, Fort William, Glencoe and Callander. We certainly got about but it truly felt like no time at all as the motor home was so comfortable and easy to drive (so my husband tells me)! On returning the motor home both Corrine and Gordon were there and the handover was smooth and effortless, although we really didn't want to let it go. We can't recommend Scottish Tourer highly enough, the motor home, information and general customer service was first class. Nothing was too much bother and emails were exchanged for weeks before we traveled, no question was too big or small or daft!! We will definitely be back and wouldn't dream of going to any other company. Thanks again Corrine and Gordon x

July 2016 - The Park family, Central Scotland:

Gordon & Corinne, this was our first foray into Motorhome touring. We are not new to touring, having had a caravan when our kids were younger, but it was a revelation the differences. No more emptying grey waste (washing up water), no more carting fresh drinking water in large heavy containers to connect up. We simply drove into camp sites, connected to mains electric and we were up and running! The six berth motorhome you rented us could have just been delivered new from a showroom, was perfect for our needs with ample room and storage for the four of us (two older teenagers) and was very easy and enjoyable to drive. We toured down through England to the Dorset coast and back up with several overnight stops both ways. All in all we would just like to thank you for a a fantastic holiday and we have no doubt we will rent from you again in the future (perhaps in one of your luxury Motorhomes for two!). I think it is also worth saying that your kind and helpful attitude is a credit to you both and contributed greatly to our confidence in this, our first motorhome holiday. Definitely rate you five stars for quality and service.

July 2016 - The Smiths, Balfron, Scotland:

We had a perfect week, what a fantastic, friendly service you provide. Starting with a really great handover including really helpful tips on what to avoid and common mistakes it was good to know you'd be at the end of the phone should we need it!

We really didn't expect to have a brand new vehicle to drive around in you provided everything we needed for a great stress free holiday. We'll be back !!

June 2016 - Brian & Nichola, Nottingham, England:

Our Scottish Touring holiday in your 'top of the range' Swift Motorhome was everything we could have hoped for and more! The West Coast highland route was spectacular and following your route plan, with all the points of interest and wild camp sites programmed in the sat nav made it a stress free and enjoyable experience from start to finish. - what a great idea! We saw and did so much in our two weeks but now realise just how much more there is to do and see!! We definitely would like to do this again.

Thanks again for thinking of everything for us, so that we didn't have to - superb.

Motorhome Hire in Scotland - Image showing a motorhome in at a scenic stop, and a couple at the top of a mountain

June 2016 - Daníel, Angelica, Alexander and Kristófer, Iceland:

We rented a motorhome from Gordon and Corinne for 8 nights in the beginning of June and we have no words to describe how happy we are for choosing Scottish Tourer. We received very personalised yet professional service. They were very helpful and ready to answer all our questions. The motorhome we rented was a month old and it was spotless. It was very well equipped and there was everything and more that one needed for a trip around the highlands. We choose to tour the West coast and it was breathtaking! It was a whole new experience as this was the first time we toured in a motorhome. We highly recommend Scottish Tourer and we will surely rent from them again. Cheers!

Motorhome Hire in Scotland - Image collage showing a motorhome, a costal shot and an image from a cave

June 2016 - Alan & Val, Victoria, Australia:

We had a wonderful holiday in your motorhome, it was comfortable, well equipped and everything worked! We managed to find the smallest roads and the motorhome negotiated the corners easily. We enjoyed travelling over the Bealach na Ba, not as scary as had read, any other roads after that were 'easy'. Loved our wildcamp looking over Applecross. We enjoyed our meal at the Applecross Inn. Loved Skye, visited Fairy pools late in the day and no problems parking motorhome in the car park. Parked in large car park in Portree, when we came back to motorhome another Scottish tourer parked next to us, that was funny, as they could have parked anywhere. Too many amazing places to mention. We did a mix of wildcamp and campsites. One wildcamp was by default when we travelled into a small settlement (narrow single lane road), when we got there there was a sign 'No Motorhomes'. So we drove out and found a spot looking over Little Loch Broom, beautiful, us and a few sheep wandering past. Wonderful holiday, Thank you.

Motorhome Hire in Scotland - Image showing a motorhome parked with a view from Applecross

June 2016 - David & Susan, Bolton, England:

Just a line to say how much we enjoyed our first ever motorhome holiday, the vehicle was exactly what was described on the web site and the information available on the Sat Nav made the whole experience a truly relaxing holiday.

June 2016 - Helen & Steve, Ryton, England:

This was our first motorhome holiday, so we did not know quite what to expect, but it turned out to be one of the best holidays we have ever had. All five of us (two adults and three girls aged 16, 14 and 8) had a brilliant time. With the help of the satnav and route guidance provided by Gordon and Corinne, all carefully explained before we set off, we were able to wild camp every night for a week in some truly stunning spots.

Motorhome Hire in Scotland - Image showing a motorhome, in a relaxing scene with a pebble beach blue sky

The motorhome was very comfortable and well-equipped, and Gordon and Corinne were happy to help with any special requests; nothing was too much trouble - one of the many benefits of booking with Scottish Tourer. They are a warm and friendly couple, well organised and clearly passionate about providing an excellent experience for their customers. We would not hesitate to recommend them and are hoping to go again next year. Some of our highlights were: toasting marshmallows on the beach at Achiltibuie (thanks for the skewers Corinne!)... a night at Applecross Bay with some delicious food at the Applecross Inn, followed by a midnight deer stalk... a fun day at the Landmark Forest Adventure Park... amazing sunset from the top of the Cairngorms near Aviemore... peace and tranquility by Loch Morar... to mention just a few. Fantastic! Thank you!

Motorhome Hire in Scotland - Image showing a relaxing scene with motorhome, mountains, sea and beach

June 2016 - Clive & Alicia, Devon, England, June 2016:

The motorhome enabled us to enjoy some superb wild camping spots and take full advantage of the glorious weather in the second half of May. Gordon’s suggested route to the west coast and his accompanying narrative helped us get the best out of our trip. House of Bruar was great – ‘Harrods food hall of the Highlands’ – and we stocked up with all sorts of goodies (meat, fish, bread, cheeses etc. ). Blair Castle, Fort George, Dunvegan castle and Inverary castle were all great visits as was our afternoon at Inverewe gardens. Glen Nevis was beautiful and the excellently equipped caravan site there (good Motorhome service point) was a handy place after some wild camps. Kishorn seafood bar and Old School House on Skye were our best meals out – thanks for these recommendations.

As I said when we were chatting on our way back to Glasgow airport, anyone trying to get to the Fairy Pools on Skye should do it early – by mid morning on a Tuesday, parking was impossible especially with an 8 metre van. Ditto for the Old Man of Storr though they are doing work on car parking at present. Suggest you warn people to book sites ahead when it’s near a bank holiday – we couldn’t get into any of 5 sites around Arisaig – comments to us were “never seen so many motor homes as this year!” . We felt let down by Loch Fyne who seemed to have plenty space but said they were fully booked – something odd going on there so I wouldn’t recommend it.

The Bolero was easy to drive but it’s length restricted us on where we could park, and we had to miss some sights.

Scottish Tourer Comment:

Sorry to hear that due to the Length of Bolero Super Luxury you missed some sights. However we have travelled Scotland and Europe extensively over the years in this size and never had a situation that restricted us from going where we wanted... Also bear in mind things are a compromise in that that if you want an extra roomy super luxury motorhome then it will be longer.
Regarding campsites that are full up... usually its just a case of moving to the next one or just wild camp... remember our motorhomes are fully fitted out so you don’t need to use campsites every night... however we take your point.

June 2016 - Gordon & Ruth, Milton Keynes, England:

Got home safely from our wonderful trip to Scotland. Thank you both very much for being part of our best holiday ever.
We will certainly pass on the information to our friends and family about Scottish Tourer, Thanks again.

May 2016 - Malcolm & Jenny, Safford, England :

I would like to thank you both for making our trip to Scotland so enjoyable.
As a first time motor home driver, I was slightly apprehensive to be driving a brand new motor home, but I was put at my ease and given confidence at the handover briefing. Your pre trip information and suggested routes were invaluable to plan before we left, on the start of our holiday.
The motor home was a joy to drive and was an excellent base for exploring Scotland, it was well equipped with state of the art facilities. As a long time camper, it was a joy to arrive on site and within minutes be set up for eating, drinking or relaxing under the awning.
My only suggestion for improvement would be to offer a choice of the number of pillows required for the bed.
Thanks again for providing excellent service, and an excellent motor home to tour the beautiful country of Scotland

Scottish Tourer Comment:

Regarding the pillows...thank you for pointing this out and we will take your advice.

May 2016 - Glynn & Rich, Wakefield, England:

A big thank you to Gordon and Corrine for a fantastic introduction to our first motor home experience. We were given useful and clear advice in respect of driving, as well as handy tips to get the most out of our week.The motor home was equipped with everything and more, including great maps and routes which we followed to experience stunning scenery and stop in some amazing places

Motorhome Hire in Scotland - Image showing a Motorhome beside a loch really nice view

One recommendation not to be missed is a stop at the cafe at Kishorn for exceptional seafood - make sure you call in on your way to Applecross where you'll also hopefully see the deer on the campsite or at the beach. The freedom to wild camp and be totally at one with nature is not to be missed, and wild camp locations were easily found using the SatNav provided.

Motorhome Hire in Scotland - Image showing a bridge with a burn and in the background a mountain view

The most reassuring aspect of the trip was that Gordon and Corrine were at the end of the telephone 24/7 to give assistance and advice. We had a little difficulty connecting the satellite TV, but Corrine arranged for her engineer to call us to talk us through the process of making it work again - exceptional service!

Thanks again for a fantastic experience that we highly recommend to anyone wanting to see Scotland's most breathtaking sights with the freedom to do it at your own pace.

May 2016 - Jim & Pauline, Buckie, Scotland:

A big thank you to Corrine and Gordon for all they did for us on our very first motorhome trip in a beautiful brand new Swift Escape Islay Motorhome. We had a fantastic few days touring and wild camping, so much fun,so much to see that we never could never have done with a car.

We cannot recommend this company enough, from the first e-mail to picking up the motorhome was seamless, the information we received was excellent and exactly what was required for us newbies.We spent the first night wild camping near Oban, 'Wow' it was beautiful, the weather was fantastic and the sat nav was perfect, it had lots of wild camp spots pre loaded on it. The Motorhome had everything we required for our short touring trip, it was easy to drive and the bed was very comfortable. We toured and saw many beautiful sights, we woke up to some amazing scenery such as, looking over to the Isle ofArran from the sea shore on a beautiful morning.The whole experience was excellent and one i would recommend anyone to try, even if you have like us never driven a Motorhome before.

Thanks again for a fantastic experience we will do it again for sure.

Motorhome Hire in Scotland - Image showing a Longboat with Scottish Castle

May 2016 - Elvira, Christian & our 6 and 9y old boys, Paris, France:

This was our first motorhome rental and to be honest we didn't really know what to expect. To say it straight away, everything was perfect, a fantastic experience for the whole family. Before calling Gordon and Corinne we spent some time checking through various websites and offers, but Scottish Tourer somehow inspired confidence. We can tell now that there's a good reason for that, Gordon and Corinne really take care of everything, they answered to the numerous questions we had and provided us with a brand new fully equipped motorhome. The kids loved it and so did we. We hired a 6 berth Lewis motohome, including 4 permanent beds, so we didn't have to make up beds in the evenings. Lots of space and all extras included. Getting to Perth was really easy, Gordon picked us up from the railway station and brought us to the Scottish Tourer base, explained everything in detail, in and around the motorhome. Shortly after that we hit the road...

Motorhome Hire in Scotland - Image showing a family beside a loch and a motorhome with a mountain in the distance

Touring around Scotland was easy, especially due to the satnav including preprogrammed wild campsites, water tap sites etc. Finding a place for overnight parking has never been a problem, even more, the satnav guided us to quite some exceptional spots with fantastic views. To make it short, we highly recommend Scottish Tourer and hope that many other families will enjoy motorhoming Scotland thanks to Gordon and Corinne. Having said that, Gordon also showed us their luxury motorhomes for couples. Wow ! We might be back in some years when the kids will be grown up :-)

April 2016 - Mike & Irene, Newtonhill, Scotland:

I cannot thank Gordon & Corinne enough for a fantastic holiday in their immaculately presented Kontiki Motorhome. We toured Skye, the West and north coast of Scotland (NC500 route).
Truly palatial it was, and oh the bed, could have stayed in it all week as it was soooo comfy.
On arrival, after the paperwork is all covered, Corinne fully explains the interior workings and layout, followed by Gordon on the external, gas, toilet, water etc etc.
The included TomTom satnav with all the preinstalled wild camping, water tap points etc were also fully explained on how to use, and came in very useful. Map, binoculars (very good pair) and manuals for appliances were also included.
A lot of thought, attention to detail and care must have went in to the preparation of the Motorhome so that we can enjoy our holiday.
Any questions we had were duly answered in a very polite, professional and down to earth manner, absolutely nothing was too much bother.
I would unreservedly recommend Scottishtourer.co.uk if you were thinking of hiring a new, extremely well presented, fully equipped Motorhome with fantastic personal service from Gordon & Corinne included. You will not be disappointed.

March 2016 - Joyce & Mike, Aberdeen, Scotland:

From the first contact we had with you, to reluctantly handing back the motorhome, it was obvious you run a very professional business and we must applaud you on this. We both work in the service industry and appreciate the need to look after customers and you certainly do that 100% so congratulations on that.

We couldn’t have asked for any more and you made our weeks break a real pleasure and the Kontiki really was a 5 star experience which we enjoyed from the point of collection to, as I said, reluctantly handing back at the end. You really have thought of everything and next time we will know to just turn up with our clothes and a smile as that is all you need to enjoy the experience. I certainly will have no hesitation in recommending you to any of our friends so they can enjoy the experience as well.

Once again our sincere thanks for making our week so great.

Follow@Scottourer

Find us on facebookFollow us on Google Plus

Scottish Tourer Motorhome Hire, 5 Ruthvenmill View, Huntingtower, Perth, Perthshire, Scotland PH1 3JL
TEL: 01738 580 755

© Scottish Tourer - Motorhome Hire 2009 - 2017